October 17, 2004

As long as the kids are having fun, that's all that matters

 by Jeremy

Has anyone gotten spam from the people who run the yesbushcan.com and cheneybush.com websites? (I believe both domains resolve to the same site, but frankly life is too short for me to bother checking again).

It's supposed to lure imperialist Bush apologizing dupes like myself into signing up for stuff that will embarrass us later, I guess. You can invite these ostensible Bush supporters (who are really -- gasp! -- Indymedia types) to your Bush rallies and stuff, and it looks like you can add Bush "campaign" feeds to your blog that, I would assume, will say things on your website that will make you look stupid.

By all means visit their site, who cares.

The spam they sent me was an inducement to fact check all sorts of documents such as dui (or dwi, depending on where you're from) reports for Bush and Cheney the same way we clever 'conservative' bloggers exposed the false CBS documents. You get the idea.

Here is their whois info. The address in France at the bottom is the registrar; I don't know if they have any direct connection to the content mentioned above. But if anyone has any clue who these people actually are, it would make an amusing story -- kind of call their bluff on the invitation to spot the phony document. I didn't come up with anything much upon quickly searching via Google. Maybe you know who they are. This does it for me, though. I've got it off my chest:

domain: YESBUSHCAN.COM

owner-address: Support and Commitment, Inc
owner-address: 55 W. Maiden St.
owner-address: 10027
owner-address: New York
owner-address: New York
owner-address: United States of America
owner-phone: +1.2128831023
owner-e-mail: info@cheneybush.com
admin-c: SAC25-GANDI
tech-c: AR41-GANDI
bill-c: SAC25-GANDI
nserver: ns7.gandi.net 217.70.177.44
nserver: custom2.gandi.net 217.70.179.35
reg_created: 2004-08-14 10:12:25
expires: 2005-08-14 10:12:25
created: 2004-08-14 16:12:25
changed: 2004-08-14 16:30:47

person: Support and Commitment, Inc.
nic-hdl: SAC25-GANDI
address: Support and Commitment, Inc.
address: 55 W. Maiden St.
address: 10027
address: New York
address: New York
address: United States of America
phone: +1.2128831023
e-mail: info@georgewbush.org
lastupdated: 2004-08-16 19:58:55

person: GANDI Auto Register 4.1
nic-hdl: AR41-GANDI
address: GANDI
address: 38 rue Notre-Dame de Nazareth
address: F-75003
address: Paris
address: France
phone: N/A
e-mail: support@gandi.net"


Jeremy,

I got that, too. I forwarded it to Powerline with the whois info. I hope that other bloggers are similarly astute and saw the obvious trap.

Posted by: Patrick Lasswell at October 17, 2004 03:36 PM

I forwarded it to Powerline

Good idea.

We will, of course, print anything Karl Rove tells us to, but these guys didn't use the secret password. So I knew they weren't legit.

Posted by: Jeremy at October 17, 2004 04:28 PM

Fortunately, my tinfoil hat allows me to tune into Rove's brainwaves directly as he beams his instructions to the faithful. so I don't need a password. So I've got that going for me...

Posted by: Patrick Lasswell at October 18, 2004 04:50 PM


Comments
 
NAME:  
EMAIL:  
(optional)  
URL:  
(optional)  
COMMENT:  
 
  Sample Captcher Captcha Processing Script



Enter the colored letters from the image above and click "submit":
 
 
 

Comments